NOW Newspapers wins 22 awards in state newspaper contest

March 6, 2013

NOW Newspapers, publisher of North Shore NOW and seven other suburban weekly newspapers, was presented with 22 awards Friday at the Wisconsin Newspaper Association annual convention in Madison.

The Better Newspapers Contest recognizes the top journalism in the state. Eligible entries were published between Sept. 1, 2011, and Aug. 31, 2012.

North Shore NOW won five awards:

Sports reporter Steven L. Tietz took a first in the Local Sports Column category.

Photographer Peter Zuzga claimed seconds in Spot News and Sports photo.

Designer Christina Johnson took second in the Front Page Design category.

Online Editor Matt Newman took home a third in the Continuing Web Coverage category, for the "Preserving Our Past" feature.

NOW Newspapers also won:

Feature Photo, first, Brookfield-Elm Grove NOW

Web Special Project, first, Brookfield-Elm Grove NOW

Front Page Design, first, Hales Corners-Franklin-Greendale-Oak Creek NOW; second, Brookfield-Elm Grove NOW

Overall Page Design, second, Brookfield-Elm Grove NOW and Muskego-New Berlin NOW

Sports Feature Story, second, Germantown-Menomonee Falls NOW; third, Greenfield-West Allis NOW

Web Special Project, first, Wauwatosa NOW; second, Wauwatosa NOW; third, Germantown-Menomonee Falls NOW

Sports News Story, second; Muskego-New Berlin NOW

General Web Excellence, first, Wauwatosa NOW

Spot News Story, second; Hales Corners-Franklin-Greendale-Oak Creek NOW

Feature Page Design, third Hales Corners-Franklin-Greendale-Oak Creek NOW

Photo Essay, first, Hales Corners-Franklin-Greendale-Oak Creek NOW

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries