Miller, Fuda take two seats on Bay board

Incumbents hold off challengers in other North Shore contests

April 3, 2013

Whitefish Bay - Incumbent Jay Miller and newcomer Carl Fuda defeated newcomers Kevin McMahon and Ken Wysocky by a wide margin Tuesday night, claiming two seats on the Village Board.

Of the 10,306 registered voters in Whitefish Bay, 34 percent came out for the contest.

Board members serve three year terms and are paid $1,200 annually.

The vote total, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

Carl J. Fuda 1,946

Jay Miller (i) 1,811

Kevin McMahon 718

Ken Wysocky 596

Election results remain unofficial until they are certified by the board of canvassers.

Miller and Fuda agreed their resounding victories were the result of their comparatively high profiles within the village.

"I'm an incumbent, and Carl's done a lot in the village in a public way," Miller said Tuesday evening. "I think we both probably had higher name recognition and involvement with the village."

Fuda said his candor had a lot to do with his top spot in the polls.

"If anybody asked me if I had a strong point of view, I shared it with them," Fuda said Tuesday night. "I tried to keep an open mind, and if they had a different point of view, I listened. That's the beauty of politics at a local level. We're all friends. We can have a collegial conversation."

Now that he's defended his seat, Miller said his first priority will be to address the pressing issue of the village's sewer and stormwater overhaul.

"We have a plan for the sewers, but there's a lot that needs to be worked out," Miller said. "I'm hoping that we get a lot done on that front in the next three years."

Fuda's game plan is simple.

"Do my best, and what I've done in all my other endeavors in Bay," he said. "To keep an open mind, tell people what I'm thinking, and keep an open door."

In other contested North Shore elections:


Incumbents Michael Barth and Eido Walny were re-elected Tuesday, defeating former Nicolet School Board member Kelly Herda and newcomer Tom Noble.

Michael Barth received 41 percent of the vote - 680 votes - and Walny received 34 percent of the vote, or 565 votes. There were 277 ballots cast for Herda, and 150 for Noble.

Village trustees serve three-year terms and earn $1,200 annually.

The vote total, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

Michael Barth (i) 680

Eido Walny (i) 565

Kelly Herda 277

Tom Noble 150

Brown Deer

Incumbents Jeff Baker and Gary Springman successfully defended their seats against newcomer Otto Bunge. Village President Carl Krueger ran unopposed for his seat.

Of Brown Deer's 8,513 registered voters, 27 percent came out to vote in the contest. Baker took home 43 percent of the vote. Springman received 38 percent and Bunge brought in 19 percent.

Board members serve for three years and earn $3,100 annually.

The vote total, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

Jeff Baker (i) 1,207

Gary Springman (i) 1,075

Otto Bunge 521

Fox Point

Incumbents Eric Fonstad and Douglas H. Frazer will keep their seats on the Fox Point Village Board for three more years, after defeating newcomer and challenger Terry McGauran on Tuesday.

Frazer was the top vote-getter, bringing in 44 percent of the vote. He received 875 votes, while Fonstad received 650 votes, or 33 percent. McGauran brought in 23 percent of the vote, or 454 votes.

Trustees are not paid.

The vote total, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

Douglas H. Frazer (i) 875

Eric Fonstad (i) 650

Terry McGauran 454


Dan Abendroth was re-elected to his seat as the District 1 alderman on the Mequon Common Council, however, since he was elected as Mequon mayor, the Common Council will review applications and appoint someone to the District 1 seat. That person will serve for one year before the seat is up for grabs once again in April 2014.

Newcomer John Leszczynski defeated newcomer Jeff Hansher for the District 4 alderman seat.

It was a close race with Abendroth garnering 53 percent of the vote, beating newcomer Robert Strzelczyk. Strzelczyk received 415 votes, while Abendroth received 474. Leszczynski defeated Hansher with 393 votes - or 60 percent of the vote - versus Hansher's 267 votes.

Council members earn $1,800 annually and serve three-year terms.

The vote total for District 1, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

Dan Abendroth (i) 474

Robert Strzelczyk 415

The vote total for District 4, according to unofficial results Tuesday:

John Leszczynski 393

Jeff Hansher 267


Incumbent Patrick Linnane and newcomer Tammy Bockhorst bested formed School Board President Paul Zovic, winning two seats on the Village Board.

Bockhorst was the top vote-getter, receiving roughly 39 percent. Linnane had approximately 32 percent and Zovic about 29 percent.

Village board members serve three-year terms and earn $1,000 per year.

The unofficial vote total:

Tammy A Bockhorst 1,767

Patrick Linnane (i) 1,472

Paul Zovic 1,300

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries