Incumbents defeated in Mequon-Thiensville School Board race

Published on: 4/3/2012

Three newcomers will join the Mequon-Thiensville School Board later this month.

Incumbents Michele Ziegler and Cindy Miske were defeated in a race that had six candidates vying for three seats.

Candidates Gary Laev, Stephanie Clark and Cheryle Rebholz were the top three vote-getters, based on preliminary results Tuesday.

The unofficial vote totals:

Gary Laev - 3,872 votes, 18.2 percent

Stephanie Clark - 3,839 votes, 18.1 percent

Cheryle Rebholz - 3,467 votes, 16.3 percent

Michele Ziegler - 3,416 votes, 16.1 percent

Cindy Miske - 3,381 votes, 15.9 percent

Ed Allen - 3,278 votes, 15.4 percent

A Board of Canvassers will meet later this week to confirm the results.