Weidner, Wick win Fox Point- Bayside contest

Fox Point - In a four-way contest between newcomers, Elizabeth Wick and Michael Weidner have won out against David Smulyan and Thomas Hayssen, claiming two spots on the Fox Point-Bayside School Board.

Weidner received 31 percent of the vote, followed by Wick at 27 percent, and Smulyan and Hayssen with 21 percent each.

School Board members serve three-year terms and are unpaid.

Election results remain unofficial until they are certified by the board of canvassers.

Michael Weidner 709

Elizabeth Libby Wick 630

Thomas Hayssen 483

David Smulyan 474

Wick and Weidner both commented that their recognition throughout the community played an important role in their victories.

"I think it helped that I've been a teacher in the (Nicolet) district for almost 20 years," Weidner said. "I think a lot of people know me from my experiences at Nicolet."

"I've been in this district for quite a while," Wick said. "I've been pretty supportive within the district."

She added that she's ready to get to work on the board.

"I'm excited and looking forward to the next few years," Wick said. "There's a lot to do and I'm very optimistic about it."

Now that he's on the board, Weidner said his first priority will be to find the right superintendent to succeed Rachel Boechler, then focus on the district's 2013-14 budget.

"I'm guessing (budgeting) will probably involve some public forum and hopefully, between what Madison does, and looking at our budget, we can keep moving forward without a referendum or any majors changes," Weidner said. "But if we need to make those changes, we'll look at them carefully and in a public forum."


Incumbent Mary Cyrier and newcomer Kathryn Houpt were elected to the Mequon-Thiensville School Board on Tuesday, defeating challenger Alex Leykin.

Houpt was the top vote-getter with 4,619 votes - 37 percent. Cyrier, who has served on the board since 2006, garnered 34 percent of the vote, or 4,327 votes. There were 3,664 votes cast for Leykin, who brought in 29 percent of the voter.

Board members serve three-year terms and are not paid.

Kathryn Houpt 4,619

Mary Cyrier (i) 4,327

Alex Leykin 3,664

Houpt, who has been a regular attendee of School Board meetings, said communicating with residents and running a positive campaign is what made the difference in the race.

Her priority now that she is elected is to learn the ins and outs of the School Board.

"I will be looking at things with a different perspective at the table, but my priority is to get in and learn and work together and tackle the issues," she said. "Thanks for getting out there and voting and being part of the process."

Cyrier is looking forward to continuing the work that has already begun on the School Board, including implementation of the strategic plan that sets a direction for the district.

"It's how to keep the excellence in education moving forward and how do we do this in the financial situation that confronts us and I think that's a job we need to do together as an entire board of education and I'm excited to continue that work," she said.

Cyrier thanked the community for their support, as well as Houpt and Leykin for taking the time to run for a seat on the board.

In other contested North Shore elections:

Brown Deer

Incumbent Lisa Zielinski defended her seat on the School Board, and former board member Leslie Galloway Sherard unseated incumbent Barry Godshaw, defeating newcomer Bill Weisgerber in the process.

Zielinski received 29 percent of the vote, Galloway Sherard won 28 percent, Weisgerber brought in 24 percent, and Godshaw received 19 percent.

School board members serve three-year terms and earn $3,100 per annually.

Unofficial results are:

Lisa Zielinski (i) 972

Leslie Galloway Sherard 917

Bill Weisgerber 791

Barry Godshaw 622

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries