Celebrations: June 21

June 19, 2012


The following graduates earned bachelor's degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire in May: from Brown Deer, Cameron Stoeger, English; from Glendale, James Sweeney, biology; from Mequon, Peter Harris, social studies, and Kerry Manion, English; from Shorewood, Genevieve Harper, management; and from Whitefish Bay, Brittany Nygren, elementary education, and Brendan Quirk, history.

Geoffrey Bruce of Shorewood earned his bachelor's degree in English from Ripon College in May .

Colleen Caragher of Whitefish Bay earned her bachelor's degree in English/secondary education from Providence College in Rhode Island in May.

Michael Farrington of Brown Deer earned his associate degree in arts from Central Lakes College, Brainerd and Staples, in Minnesota in May.

Katherine Joachim of Whitefish Bay earned her bachelor's degree in history from Trinity College in Hartford, Conn., in May.

Bettny Mazur of Shorewood earned her bachelor's degree in global environmental studies from Clark University in Worcester, Ma., in May.

Jacob Majeski of Glendale earned his bachelor's degree in education and youth studies from Beloit College in May.

Elizabeth Christiansen of Whitefish Bay and Matthew Hillard of Shorewood earned their bachelor's degrees from Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, in May. Christiansen majored in biology-environmental studies and graduated magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa; Hillard majored in economics.

The following students were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa honor society at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in May: Rebecca Stern of Bayside; Victor Pan of Glendale; Ryne Carbone, Maria Hartwig, Dana Krasnow and Jackson Sattell of Mequon; Isabelle Faust of Shorewood; and Ian Gee of Whitefish Bay.

Jeremiah Swisher, a 2009 graduate of Nicolet High School and a student at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, and Sara Shi, a 2012 graduate of Nicolet who will be attending Pomona College in Claremont, Calif., in the fall, each earned a $2,500 scholarship from the National Association of Theatre Owners of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan. They are movie theater employees.

Athena Naylor of Shorewood received Lawrence University's Betty Champion Hustace Prize in Art History, which recognizes a student for excellence in the study of art history, in May. She was cited for "her ability to read images carefully, make interdisciplinary connections and employ sophisticated concepts."

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater: from Brown Deer, Sean Andryauskas, Andrew Burant, Jacob Christensen, Jameela Fowler and Rebecca Marks; from Glendale, Felicia King, Nicole Nowak, Christopher Rinehart, Jeremiah Swisher and Benjamin Wynn; from Mequon, Cheyanne Carbone, Bradley Cox, Gabrielle Fenzel, John Knepel Jr., Briea Newman, Megan Stevens, Tyler Thomas, Nicole Westcott and Jason Willms; from Shorewood, Lauren Lanphere; from Thiensville, Mikayla Govern and Alex Karnopp; and from Whitefish Bay, Michael Hecht, Matthew Manley-Browne, Molly Tietjen and Christopher Wolf.

Stephen Sawyer of Whitefish Bay made the spring semester dean's list at Creighton University in Omaha, Neb.

Geoffrey Bruce of Shorewood and Laura Schinner of Mequon made the spring semester dean's list at Ripon College.

Marshall Sumwalt of Mequon made the spring semester dean's list at Baker University in Baldwin City, Kan.

Laura Podolske and Lucas Verstegen of Mequon and Kelly McMahon of Shorewood made the winter semester dean's list at Northern Michigan University in Marquette.

Helen Wauck of Whitefish Bay made the spring semester dean's list at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn.

Kayleigh Kavanagh, Joseph Moran and Arthur Staub of Shorewood made the spring semester dean's list at Beloit College.

Monique Morris of Brown Deer made the spring semester dean's list at Indiana State University in Terre Haute.

The following students made the spring semester dean's list at St. Norbert College in De Pere: from Mequon, Kelsey Gerdes, Colleen Shore and Rebecca Weinrich; from Shorewood, Caitlin Petersen; from Thiensville, Lauren Gleisberg and Samuel Morris; and from Whitefish Bay, Brigid O'Brien and JoAnna Ruppa.


Emily Pogorelc, a 15-year-old sophomore at Whitefish Bay High School, won first place at the Classical Singer High School & University Vocal Competition in May. Emily made it through the first round of singing on Friday, the second round on Saturday, the semifinals Sunday morning and the finals, which featured eight high school competitors, Sunday evening. She won a cash prize of $1,000. This was Emily's second win in a national vocal competition this year; she also won the Music Teachers National Association Voice Competition in March.

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries