Celebrations: April 14

Feb. 13, 2013


The following graduates earned bachelor's degrees, or other degrees as noted, from Concordia University Wisconsin, Mequon, in December: from Bayside, Sheila Bauers Jimenez, health care management; from Brown Deer, Kolyssa Frisque, mass communication, Brian Maronde, master's degree in business management, and Doris Ngirwa-Mpesha, master's in human resource management; from Mequon, Andrew Frazier, master's in business management, Eugene Gelmanovich, master's in health care management, David Hunt, business management, Andrew Mertig, master's in graduate student personnel administration, and John Saleska, master's in graduate education design and technology; from Shorewood, Bhupinder Singh, master's in business management; from Thiensville, Hanna Al Houmaden and Hanadi Baajajah, master's in information technology, Valerie Jeanpierre, business management, Caroline O'Connell, human resource management, Jorie O'Hagan, master's in reading, Chrystal Otto, accounting, and Molly Wagner, master's in international business; and from Whitefish Bay, Rachel Lewright, master's in occupational therapy.

Kagen Mantz of Mequon earned a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from Northern Michigan University in Marquette in December.

Emily Sotelo of Bayside and Antonino Erba of Shorewood made the fall semester dean's list at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa.

Emily Schuyler of Fox Point, Laura Podolske and Lucas Verstegen of Mequon, and Kelly McMahon of Shorewood made the fall semester dean's list at Northern Michigan University in Marquette.

Susan Brancaccio of Mequon made the fall semester dean's list at Ithaca College in New York.

The following students made the fall semester dean's list at the University of Dayton in Ohio: from Mequon, Kristin Ambrookian, Patrick Jeffers, Mary McCormick and Quinn Otero; from Thiensville, Connor Peck; and from Whitefish Bay, Emily Shanley.


Homestead students Andrey Rainchik and Collin Cademartori won the Grace Walsh Award for Best Negative Team at the 2013 Wisconsin State Debate Tournament. The traveling award is presented to the team with the best tournament record. The team went 6-0 at the state tournament.


Isaac D. Pierre, medical doctor and resident of Shorewood, is the recipient of the 2012 Family Medicine Educator of the Year award presented by the Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians. A graduate of the Medical College of Wisconsin, Pierre completed his residency training at Columbia St. Mary's family medicine residency program in Milwaukee, where he currently serves as associate program director and director of predoctoral education. He is also an assistant professor of family and community medicine at MCW. He has worked with numerous residents and medical students, many of whom supported his nomination.

Got some good news to share? We want to hear all about it. Send your announcements to Celebrations/NOW Newspapers, 1741 Dolphin Drive, Suite A, Waukesha 53186; or tonews@cninow.com .

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries