Celebrations: June 7

June 6, 2012


Suzanna Sellars of Shorewood earned her bachelor's degree summa cum laude in biology from Marymount University in Arlington, Va. She maintained a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

Lindsey Nimis of Glendale earned her associate degree from the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha in May.

Elizabeth Christiansen of Whitefish Bay, a senior at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, was awarded the Academic Award in Environmental Studies at the college's annual honors ceremony in May.

Alex Debbink of Mequon, a student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, earned the 2012 LeRoy C. Schmidt Accounting Scholarship in the amount of $5,000 awarded by the Wisconsin Institute of Certified Public Accountants Educational Foundation Inc. The scholarship is offered to fund the 150-hour education requirement to sit for the CPA exam, which call for a fifth year of academic work leading toward a master's degree in accounting.

Madeleine Cohen of Whitefish Bay made the spring semester dean's list at Boston University in Massachusetts.

Alexander Gabriel of Glendale and Leigh Poellmann of Whitefish Bay made the spring semester dean's list at DePaul University in Chicago.


Mitchell Gieske of Mequon, a senior at Homestead High School, has earned one of four Milwaukee School of Engineering Presidential Scholarship awards for four years of full tuition. Gieske plans to major in nursing.

The following students from the North Shore earned college-financed National Merit Scholarship awards, ranging from $500 to $2,000, based on their scores on the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test: Marquette University High School student John Sanders of Fox Point, Lewis & Clark College in Oregon; Homestead High School students and Mequon residents Wendy Gao, Northwestern University in Illinois, and Stella Guo, Washington University in St. Louis, Mo.; and Shorewood High School student Arwen Bleksley of Shorewood, Lewis & Clark College in Oregon.

The following 50 juniors were inducted into the Nicolet High School chapter of the National Honor Society in May: Parnian Abunasr-Shiraz, Mitchell Bass, Michaela Bear, Katelyn Bieser, Jordan Borneman, Brianna Cardinale, Elizabeth Carlton, Chloe Choice, Tristan Cook-Ziegler, Lauren Cunningham, Lauren Deuser, Mary Donohue, Nicole Dunn, Rachel Halstrom, Erik Hansen, Benjamin Henken, Gregory Horstmeier, Allen Hung, Annie Jen, William Jen, Mallory Kane, Andrew Keene, Gabriel Kinzer, Matthew Kinzer, Martha Leplae-Arthur, Benjamin Levey, Jessica Luecke, Nick Martin, Winn Alana May, Jared Mazin, Spencer McAfee-Gundrum, Katherine McManus, Margaret O'Dell, Aislinn O'Dwyer, Anna Olla, Zachary Pagel, Devon Peck, Steven Richards, Katherine Richter, Christa Rumbaugh, Amelia Scott, Jane Scott, Sam Streeck, Elizabeth Tavolier, Michelle Tong, Nolan Wagner, Connor Wahrman, Emma Wathen, Michael Yarmulnik and Emily Zausch.

Got some good news to share? We want to hear all about it. Send your announcements to Celebrations/NOW Newspapers, 1741 Dolphin Drive, Suite A, Waukesha 53186; or tonews@cninow.com .

Most Popular


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries